top of page

Superhero

"Ben your dad's here" Mum calls, I dread the weekends, I never enjoyed spending time with him. He and Mum got a divorce when I was a kid, and I looked up to you, you were my superhero. But then you came crashing back down to earth, falling from the sky and I didn't see Superman anymore.


"Hey son"

"David."

"I'm your dad"

"I don't wanna call you dad."

"Ben darling say Hi dad" Mum's eyes of pain , it makes me mad he did this he made her scared,


I storm past him and sit in the car. A woman sits in the front , she smiles at me. I glare.

"It doesn't work like that here."


"What did he tell you happened 10 years ago?"


"Just that he was a bit too drunk one night and your mum asked for a divorce."


David slips into the passenger seat. I grab the door handle and the car clicks lock.


"I know you hate me."


"I don't really hate you but I hate what's in your glass."


"When I was a kid..."


"No David, I thought that you would have a cape to save me from the people willing to do me harm, but you was the one doing harm , a villain disguised as a hero."


He turns.


"I used to know when you needed help."


"Oh well David do you want an award cause all you did was hurt us"


"Don't talk to your dad like that."


"Who even are you?"


"This is my girlfriend.."


"I don't care I'm never coming to yours again."


I try the doors still locked.I hold my phone so they can see what i'm typing 9 9 9. David's face is full of confusion. I hit call.


"I've been kidnapped by my dad."


"Put the phone down son"


"They won't let me out the car."


The woman looks panicked, David reaches for my phone.


"I'm 18" The phone call ends.


"What the hell son."


"I ain't your son."


The police arrive and let me out of the car mum meets me and pulls me in for a hug.

"If you don't want to go , I won't make you."

I watch as they take David in a police car with his new woman. The paramedic checks me over and tells us we are free to go. We go home and watch a movie just me and my new hero.

60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page