top of page

Midnight

I sit crying against the bench as my step-sister and step-mother drive away in the carriage they had used all our money to get, guess who will be living on scraps, it not like I don't know the prince I met him once in the woods but the guards would laugh at me in dirty ripped clothes.


A sparkle falls onto the bench, I blink with the trick of light as another lands in my hand. A woman sits on the bench wearing a sparkly flowing purple ball gown as she waves a wand in my face.


"What is with the tears, my child?"


"For once, I wanted to have a night for me."


"Well, you can't go to the ball like that."


"But I'm not going to the ball.'


"Of course you are, I just need a few things, let me just grab a piece of hair."


I hold my head .


"Who even are you?'


"I am your fairy not fairy your witch."


"Is this safe"


"My dear sweet child , please let me do my bibbidi bobbidi boo"


My dress starts to dissolve like cinders and creates a gorgeous blue dressed with butterflies attached to the shoulders. I look down at my worn-out shoes. She taps her wand and solid glass shoes appear.


I look up and see a horse and carriage I take a step forward and fall.


"Can I walk in these"


"Magic has its limits."


I stumble into the carriage just as she grabs me.


"By the way, child you must have him kiss you by midnight."


"what happens if I don't?"


"You belong to me."


"Wait what?"


"You must understand, my dear. On the stroke of twelve, the spell will be broken and everything will be gone."


I arrive at the palace just as a princess should but now its not about having fun it's about getting that kiss.I dance my way around the dance floor till I come face to face with him. The Prince. He places his hand on my waist and we dance like the crowd is not watching.


He grabs my hand as we run through the hall , I watch as my dress floats behind me. I know I am not the girl he should look at but I am. He opens the door to the garden and as I step through the stars turn into our own spotlight. He takes my hand down the step and the light follows us.


I can do this with just a kiss. He shows me his garden full of roses and onto the swing seat, he leans in and stops.


"I'm sorry to ask, but can I erm kiss you?"


I nod my head.


Our lips touch, and a woman appears.


"There you are. Come back to the ball."


He heads back inside, his breath on my lips hovering and it is gone. The woman smiles and laughs.


The witch.


I follow them inside and grab the mic.


"I think I love you."


The prince stops and looks up at me.


"I never came here to fall in love, but these last 2 hours have been the most wonderful hours."


He walks on the stage , he circles me and leans in and kisses me. The clock strikes.


"No" Screams the woman


The butterflies fall off my dress


"No" The terror in the prince's eyes is all I can see and I run and well you know the rest.


The shoe. The wedding and


Happily Ever After.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page