top of page

Rummage to Ruler

I stand with my tiara stuffed in my bag, gown shoved into my coat as I walk the street down the back alleys out of sight of the world I'm meant to live. Through the drunken drivers and tired taxi drivers, I reach a trap door concealed by a drain cover. I tap my heel 3 time and wait then I stomp and clap, a boy opens the door.

"Maria's here!"

I walk down the steps to see all the children in their dirty and worn-out clothes the gulit hits me as they gather around me I pull the coins out and past them around. The children all place them in their own boxes. A boy grabs my coat and places it on an old lamp stand. The dress unfolds and the room goes silent.

"Are the scrubs not good enough for you nowadays my future queen?"

"Parker!" I turn and hug.

"Future queen?" The children cry in confusion. I take the tiara out of my bag and place it on my head. Their eyes glow in the sparkles.

"So you won't see us anymore?"

I love you all even my street rat of a boyfriend." I kiss his hand.

"What about the day a prince sweeps you off your feet?" He pulls me into a wedding lift.I pull him in for a kiss as the children cheer..

"Let's go find some treasure. I shove the tiara into the old fireplace and tear my dress, messy my hair and add soot to my face.

"That's the girl I know."

We run around the streets looking in the garbage for anything valuable. The children come back with watches, coins, and bottle caps. I leave them and find a shiny rock underneath some garbage.

"Get away from there." A deep voice boomed, I see Parker and the children round the corner as I stand to face the wall.

"I'm sorry sir I'm so hungry."

They run, Parker nods his head. The man takes a step forward.

"Turn around."

I slowly turn around to see my future partner Harrison.

"Maria!?"

"Who are you?"

"Don't play dumb, or are you really as stupid as people say?"

"Harrison I don't fit in at the castle!"

He looks me up and down like garbage.

"Not like that."

He grabs my arm and drags me out of the alleys and into the castle and right in front of my mother and father.

"Maria explain yourself!"

"You know I don't want this."

"You will rule this kingdom."

"This kingdom has starving children, who nobody cares for!"

"Those children steal, I bet that is where your tiara is gone!"

"No, they steal our rubbish to survive.."

"She has lost it your Highnesses."Harrison chimes in.

"Harrison we understand if you don't want this marriage."

"Oh I'll have it under one condition."

"What is that?"


ONE YEAR LATER

Queen Maria sits on the throne next to King Harrison, Parker watches from the crowd and he knows his Maria is gone and all that is left is her body with an empty soul. He goes back to the children and finds her tiara, he places it on her old bed and leave, he keeps walking and doesn't look back his days here are over.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page