top of page

Heart Skips A Beat

I look at the boy that I love as their heart monitor gets faster and faster.I look at his eyes which look so unsure. I know he tries to hide his scar but all I can see is his beautiful smile and the dark emerald eyes and a story of him being brave. I see him fumble with his t-shirt.


I head to the bathroom so he can feel more secure, to be able to calm his heart. I look at myself in the mirror and my heart sinks as my hair flops to the side. I can't let him see me with a bedhead. What was I thinking? I open his bathroom cabinet for any gel or hairspray. His body spray is calling my name staring at me. I take it out and smell the safety of it. The scent relaxes my whole body.

I head back out and look at him. His smile is gone.

"What's wrong?"

"I didn't want you to see it."


"Dylan Roads, I love every part of you, even the scars."


I walk over and kiss his forehead. The light in his eyes slowly turns back on.

"I need you to know that the Implantable cardioverter defibrillator might not always work."


"I will be by your side no matter what, Dylan."


We sit on the bed and switch the tv on and scroll through the endless channels and find a film "War Of The Worlds. " I don't watch it I watch as Dylan's chest rises and falls. Dylan's hand takes my face and our eyes meet.

"I'm not that fragile, Miles."

His lips close to mine. I turn and watch the film. But he turns my face again his lips taste of strawberries and everything that is right in this world.


I turn to Dylan who has fallen asleep, I put my hand on his heart and feel the beat and then skip a beat. I place my head on his chest and listen to the beat as it relaxes my whole body.I fall asleep to the sound of knowing if his heart stops I will wake up and start CPR within the second.


The sunlight came through the window, and I woke up and see Dylan staring at me, playing with my hair.

"You slept like that."

"Your heart is perfect."

"I mean, it needs CPR now and again."

"I can handle that"

"Well, now I know, you are the one I've waited for."


He pulls me in for a kiss.






13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page