top of page

Deoch (TW-PTSD)

I stand and watch as another drunk stumbles out and as another one walks in, at "Deoch".One drunk out and a new victim comes in.


A blonde boy about my age comes in and sits in the corner alone not looking around.


"Maggie,? have you seen that boy before?"


"Oh, he was fighting for the Queen, I hear he's single."


"A fighter?"


"Get back to work Isabel,"


"Sorry, Dave."


Maggie rolls her eyes.


I pour a few pints and take them to the regular table. The rumors of this new boy have spread like wildfire over the regulars. That the poor boy is an orphanage, ran away, a criminal, and a father all within 10 minutes of walking into Deoch. Once you walk in your life is never the same, you become a victim of the rumors or a regular. I walk over to him as laughter erupts behind me.


"What can I get you?"


"Isabel, we don't do table orders!"


"I can order at the bar?"

I shake my head


"A cola please,"

I smile and walk back to the bar. Dave grabs my wrist over the pump.


"How many times Isabel you know the rules?"


"Yes sir,"


I take the cola over to the mystery boy and refill the regular.


"Oh, look a new freak in town, just for you Isabel"


My hand glows I take a breath and head to the bar.


I pour 4 pints and slam them on the counter and watch as the liquid pours over his hands.


"Hey watch it,"


"Oh, I'm so sorry, the napkins are over there."


He hands me the money and slumps away with his 3 minions. A scream erupts from the boy's throat. We all turn and see him covering his ears curled into a ball, his eyes are full of tears streaming down his face. I look at Maggie, who nods her head. I take a huge breath in and focus on the boy, trying to find a way into his mind and his thoughts.


I manage to find a way and land on a battlefield, a boy bleeding to death in his arms. Voices yelling the most emotional heart-wrecking phrases I have ever heard. I focus and silence them. The boy kisses his forehead and closes his eyelids.


I imagine a beach and the battlefield turns to a sunset beach. Ben walks into the water's edge.

"Stay strong for me"

"I will wait for you"


I watch from the bar as the boy smiles. He finds me. He comes up and hands me the money with a note.


Thank you, I saw you.


And he leaves, and that was the last time I saw him.




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page