top of page

The White Shoes

(BASED ON A REAL STORY -Luton)


I serve another beer to the next customer. I watch as he sits down over in the conservatory. I turn to the next customer as I prepare their gin and tonic. I see something flicker in the distance of my eye. I ignore it and pass the customer their gin and tonic, maybe I just need a gin without the tonic.


The night draws to a close and the last customer leaves out the door, I grab a cloth and wipe all the spills off the tables, A chill creeps up my spine, I turn around to see a figure behind the bar holding a bottle above their head.


"Excuse me, you can't be there."

I notice a piece of glass on the floor and pick it up, and the figure is gone. I look around and see nobody in sight. The doors are still firmly locked. I check the kitchen, but the only movement is the washing machine. I head back out and finish wiping all the tables. I shut all the windows and make sure that the whole building is locked. I turn one last time for this night and nothing apart from a slight fog of a head and shoulders in the mirror above the fireplace, which I will clean tomorrow.


The next day the mirror was spotless and the whole place seemed quiet. A few shifts went by the tourist coming in for a pint and leaving, some having meals whilst others drank their problems away, I always hate when we need to involve the police.


I walk into the bar and something blocks my path. I try to move around but nothing is there, I just do my best trying to avoid any customer asking for a coke because every time I open the door it gets slammed shut. I manage till the end till suddenly I feel a force push me against the bar and force my head under the tap the plug drops in and the tap spills out the water edges closer and closer to my face when I take one last breath and my face has covered no oxygen no chance to move, I'm going to die.

An arm grabs me and pulls me out.

"What the hell are you doing? Go home."

The chef stands there with the tea towel in hand.

"I will tidy up"

We both watch as a figure walks away in the mirror, but nobody is there.


I sweep the dust off the floor when 2 very white shoes appear at the door.

"Sorry we are closed"

The shoes stay still. I look up and nothing. The shoes move towards me , I grabs a piece of paper and start to write.


Dear Sir


Thank you for this job but I have seen one too many ghosts I QUIT


Chris


I run all the way home and hide in my room , hours tick by and nothing happens.


I wake up and head for the post. My feet hit some fabric on my doorstep 2 white shoes.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page