top of page

Can A Villain Be A Hero

Being the "evil scientist" daughter hasn't always been easy, especially when everyone thinks you want to take over the world. The first day of school did not disappoint everyone knew that I was the orphanage daughter of Dr. Daniel Dormston. I don't want to follow in his footsteps. I never did. I just want to know how I can save the world from evil. The day. I meet the daughter who saved the world from my dad. The school treated me like Elphaba and she was Glinda popular and perfect.


In year 8 everything changed. A hand pulls me into the disabled toilets and locks the door. I search for a light switch and turn it on. Aiko stands there.


"Finally, I can speak to you."


"What do you mean?"


"I've seen your notebook, Dormston."


"My name is Thora!"


"Aiko, But I wanted to talk about your notebook."


"How have you seen my notebook?"


"Handing out glue sticks."


"Please don't give me the speech."


"I wanted to start a friendship."


"With me?"


"Thora, you are not your dad."


"Okay, but I am not having a makeover"


"You know we ain't Elphaba and Glinda, right? ,"


"Yer"


She laughs as we leave the toilet. As we walk into class, everyone looks at us and whispers among themselves about how Aiko must have caught me causing trouble and had to drag me to class.The teacher gestures for us to sit down. We sit at the opposite sides of the classroom in the only spear 2 seats. Why someone would force children to learn about maths will always confuse me all you need is the calculator on your phone. Maths drags and drags till finally the lunch bell rings.


I head to my usual spot in the field's corner and open my bag to find my lunchbox when a shadow hovers over me.


"Excuse me?"


"I was wondering shall we should head to the hill"


"I thought you were joking about the whole friendship thing."


"No, why would I do that?"


She shows the hole in the wall that she climbs through and then how to avoid the CCTV and up the hill. We can still hear the voices of the boys playing football. She opens her lunch box and closes it again. I open mine to find 4 sandwich triangles, a bag of crisps, an apple, and a 4 piece KitKat.


"You not eating?"


"Got yesterday's lunch. A thing about having a hero dad, your lunch doesn't always get made"


I hand her 2 triangles, the apple, and half the KitKat.


"Take it,"


"I can't,"


"Look, I will not poison you."


"I know,"


"Your dad told you not to take food off Dormston's,"


She takes it out of my hand and eats it. I laugh. She laughs as well. That is the moment I knew this friendship was real. She told me how everyone tells her how easy her life is with having a hero father when she hardly sees him, and when she does he only wants to know that she is helping the neighbor with their shopping rather than how she is.


I and Aiko got closer and closer each week till it turned into a year. We became best friends by connecting keyrings, friendship bracelets, and even codenames for each other oh, and boys. I pass her a gift from my holiday in Paris. A fire alarm blares as we look down and see smoke pour out of the school. We ran down the hill when we saw the school burning. All the students point at me as we arrive back calling me the problem.


"Thora has trapped Aiko's friends."


nods her head at me.


"I'll be the villain, go be the hero,"


"Really?"


"Maybe it will get my dad's attention,"


I grab the hose and point it at the entrance. I head in. I see the girls fighting the flames and pointing the hose at them. They struggle against the water so I point it at the ceiling so it rained down. I'm not great at this hero thing but I know I can do it. I get them all out dripping wet but safe. I see Aiko in handcuffs, I run over.


"Please, miss stay back,"


"But why is she in handcuffs"


"Arson"


I see the news camera zooming in.


"We are reporting live and Aiko , Albert daughter is being arrest , I guess not all hero children are heros.


I switch the hose on and watch as the water drenches the news reporter.


"Sorry, I'm new to this hero stuff."


I turn back to Aiko, who is hiding a laugh in


"Thora it's okay"


"Best friend"


"Best friend"


"Go be the hero Thora on tv show the world"


"I don't want to be a spotlight hero."


I see the girls all have their bags. I grab each one and empty them till a box of matches falls out.


"I can explain,"


They uncuff Aiko and arrest her friend.


"Explain it to the court."


"I did it for you Aiko, you have fallen under her evil spell."


"Actually, she's my best friend"


"And she's mine."


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page